How I became a writer

If you’re anything like me, writing either for a living or for your own satisfaction is a creative act.   It reflects how you feel about yourself at any particular time.   It reflects your need to express to the world who you are, and what you hope to contribute.   In that way, writing can become an important expression of your own self-worth.

I began my new career as a writer at age 50, after 25 years working in the book industry as an academic librarian.   Up until that time, I had always convinced myself that I could not become a writer, because there were so many greater writers than myself.   I would think up a topic I would love to write a book about, and then quickly find a better book than I could ever write on the subject.

This was always true until I experienced my own version of a midlife crisis.   Then I was stymied by the lack of excellent books on feeling like a midlife loser and how to get beyond that feeling.   While, at the same time, I felt confused and stymied about what I wanted to do next with my life.

I hired an excellent career counselor at that point, and she basically talked me into doing what I had always wanted to do: become a writer!   Believe me, I tried my best to convince her she was wrong, but I couldn’t.   I was quite curious what being a writer really meant.

Now I know so much more on the subject.  I know the extreme self-doubt we all go through at times, and how much pure stubbornness is needed to even get started in this line of work.   I understand the deeper psychology of becoming a writer because I hold an M.A. in Transpersonal Counseling Psychology, and I approach every aspect of my life from a psychological perspective.   I’m a natural investigator and our minds and emotions are my favorite third world country to explore.

About Laura Lee Carter

Laura Lee Carter is the author of this blog and she holds copyright on all materials published.
This entry was posted in Believing in yourself as a writer, Learning how to become a writer, Stresses of becoming a writer, The psychological challenges of becoming a writer, Writing and authenticity, Writing and loneliness, writing and meaning, Writing and personal growth, Writing and self-discovery, Writing and Self-worth, Writing the truth, Writing to learn more about yourself and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

