Living on your personal edge

“Only those who risk going too far can possibly find out how far one can go.” -T.S. Eliot

Back when I was an academic librarian, I once met a very cool woman from the Library of Congress who worked on the American Memory Project.    This was a project to get our entire national photograph collection digitized so that ALL Americans could enjoy them online.

I can remember commenting to her one day, how exciting it must be to be working on the cutting edge of technology.   She responded with, “We like to call it the bleeding edge!”   This is where I like to keep my writing life.   I like to push myself just a tiny bit further than what makes me completely comfortable.

I just heard the same thing from Ben Afleck yesterday on an interview about his directing skills.    Ben likes to work at the edge of his known abilities and courage.   Fear is a constant motivator for him.

What is your constant motivator?   Safety or pushing yourself just a little bit further than you went yesterday?   What are some goals you have set for yourself?   What holds you back from completing them?   Fear that you might have to learn some new technology like WordPress for blogging?   Or how to produce a video to market your materials more efficiently?   Perhaps you are afraid to pitch a story to a particular editor, or finally send in that novel you’ve been working on forever.

Do it now!   It will relieve all sorts of unconscious anxiety you’ve been holding on to.   Take a chance!   Push your own personal edge and remember:

“You miss 100 percent of all the shots you never take.”  -Wayne Gretzky

About Laura Lee Carter

Laura Lee Carter is the author of this blog and she holds copyright on all materials published.
This entry was posted in Believing in yourself as a writer, Blogging, Learning how to become a writer, Stresses of becoming a writer, The psychological challenges of becoming a writer, Uncategorized, Writing and Self-worth and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Living on your personal edge

  1. Hi Laura. I’ve had a lot of jobs, many in writing and publishing, but there’s something unique about the emotional/psychological discomforts associated with being a self-employed author and/or freelancer. It’s quiet, solitary and there’s time to think. That’s good and bad. Not a lot of distraction. No peers and no water cooler jabber, no contending with the boss who drives you crazy. I could go on but everyone knows this. If you’re lucky enough to have quality writing time, there’s a cost attached and for me that cost is coming to terms with myself — something I’m not seeing happen anytime soon. There’s just me, my work, my unanswered emails from my agent, and the hum of my computer fan overheating. Oh. And there’s the naked man in the apartment across from me. Right now. He’s washing his bathroom floor with a washcloth, mooning me throughout the process. He works up a sweat but instead of another shower, he dries himself with a towel. He applies skin moisturizer liberally to all the body parts. He shaves vigorously, checking himself out from all angles. I stand corrected. There are some distractions. You’re not supposed to look but everything’s material, is it not? Now I’m guilty for looking. And for wasting precious time. And so it goes….
    Rae Francoeur, still at work promoting “Free Fall: A Late-in-Life Love Affair”

  2. Hey Rae!
    Great to hear from you! Ain’t it the truth! So many distractions, but I think I prefer yours over mine! Great material going on at your “end.” -Laura Lee

  3. Glad to see your blog. I’ve been at it for a few years now (blogging, that is) and recently, I seem to have lost my writing mojo. Working on getting it back. Thanks!

  4. HI Mike:
    Keep up the good work! Just keep believing in yourself and what you have to offer others! -Laura Lee

Leave a Reply

