The results of my public reading

“To believe is to be strong.  Doubt cramps energy.  Belief is power!”

I did present the introduction to my book at a small meeting of Northern Colorado Writers last week.   I noticed immediately that the crowd was older than I would have preferred for my message.   Most were in their 60s and 70s so I suspected they weren’t in the stage of life where “finding love again” was a priority, but it was a friendly group.

After my presentation I received 8 cards full of responses to my work.   Most were quite positive, and also offered some useful suggestions.

These kinds of experiences are more a test of my emotional/psychological status than anything else anymore.   I believe completely in my project and feel good about the content I will offer in my book.   I know it is original and useful for the person who has lost their way, anyone who deeply wishes to believe in true love again.

For if we do not believe it can happen and it can be wonderful, there is no point in going in search of it.   Just as I had to believe in myself as a writer before I could become one, so I also had to find the faith that love could transform my life, before it did.

Don’t miss my new book:  How to Believe in Love Again, out in early 2011!

About Laura Lee Carter

Laura Lee Carter is the author of this blog and she holds copyright on all materials published.
This entry was posted in Believing in yourself as a writer, Learning how to become a writer, Reader's anxiety, Stress Management for Writers, Stresses of becoming a writer, the need to be heard, The psychological challenges of becoming a writer, Writer's anxiety, Writers' groups, Writing and authenticity, Writing and self-discovery, Writing and Self-worth, Writing to learn more about yourself and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to The results of my public reading

  1. Stress causes the body to release certain chemicals. Cortisol and adrenaline, which are normally issued in extreme situations.

Leave a Reply

