How writing has changed my life (and that of others!)

“Why do writers write?  Because it isn’t there.”  – Thomas Berger

I only began writing professionally in 2006.   My midlife crisis included a complete career change from research librarian to writer.   Back then I was trying to break into freelance writing, and boy did I do it with passion!   I attended writing conferences, hired a writing coach, and then started pitching to anyone who would listen, and a few who really didn’t want to.

Entering the profession of writing expanded my consciousness by leaps and bounds!   It’s one thing to notice what others are writing about, but a whole new way to look at the world when you begin to think about all the areas YOU might be able to expound on.   The only limiting factor was those darned editors!   They do their best to limit creativity and imagination!

That’s where blogging came in.   After a two year stint as a freelancer, I jumped into blogging feet first.   I completely enjoyed the freedom of owning and running my own blog.   There I could share some strong opinions online without any editorial interference. One of my earliest desires was to be the editor of an Op Ed page.  I got my wish with Midlife Crisis Queen!  It opened up a new and exciting avenue for me, filled with worldwide virtual friends, blog carnivals and linky love.

Self-publishing also opened up whole new worlds of self-expression for me.   Thank goodness we are not all still stuck with the extremely limited vision of a few traditional editors and publishers.  Again, I love the freedom of today’s writing world!

But with all of that freedom comes some serious responsibility.   Now that you have a “platform” and an audience, what are you going to say?   As a non-fiction writer and a trained psychotherapist, I have found it can be a fine line between taking your  responsibility to your audience too seriously and wasting their time.

You need to provide useful and at times even provocative content, give them something they can use in their everyday lives, but not take yourself too seriously.   Everyone loves a little levity every now and then.   Most importantly you need to be yourself, speak from your heart and not just from your brain all of the time.

Blogs are also a great way to check out the overall popularity of a subject.  I have found they can be a free way to gather a following, while also seeing if a particular topic has enough interest to attract an audience to a full book or e-book on the same topic.

I have learned that ultimately your writing will attract an audience if you post regularly, write well, and have a passion for your subject.   Remember, it’s all about your audience.   You must entertain them while also solving their problems.

About Laura Lee Carter

Laura Lee Carter is the author of this blog and she holds copyright on all materials published.
This entry was posted in Believing in yourself as a writer, Blogging, Freedom of the press, Learning how to become a writer, Stress Management for Writers, Stresses of authorship, Stresses of becoming a writer, the need to be heard, The psychological challenges of becoming a writer, Uncategorized, Writing and authenticity, Writing and self-discovery, Writing and Self-worth, Writing to learn more about yourself and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

