One Day by David Nicholls

If you’re looking for a good midlife read, check out One Day by David Nicholls.

In a world, filled with discontinuity and disconnection, this novel traces the lives of a couple from their chance meeting on the day of their graduation from college, through years of friendship and conflict, to finally finding happiness together in their mid-thirties.

Now here’s a novel I wish I had written!  “One Day” definitely has the flavor of my favorite romantic comedy, “When Harry Met Sally,” but goes on to include those depressing and unattractive parts of our older lives like infidelity, messy divorces, children from previous marriages, job loss, and alcoholism.

And Mr. Nicholls does it with such finesse, and a wonderful sense of humor.

There are parts that are so well written!   Like when one of the main characters, Emma decides she cannot marry her live-in boyfriend, she says:

“I have tried, I’ve strained to love him but I can’t.   I am building a life with a man I don’t love, and I don’t know what to do about it.”

This reminded me so much of how I felt when I finally decided divorce was my only option with my first husband.  And as an added bonus, Emma ends up becoming a successful writer!  How many of those do you know?

I have spent the past two days lost in this book and enjoyed every single minute of it!

About Laura Lee Carter

Laura Lee Carter is the author of this blog and she holds copyright on all materials published.
This entry was posted in Becoming an author in midlife, Believing in yourself as a writer, Learning how to become a writer, Stresses of authorship, Stresses of becoming a writer, the need to be heard, The psychological challenges of becoming a writer, Writer's anxiety, Writing and loneliness, writing and meaning, Writing and self-discovery, Writing and Self-worth, Writing to learn more about yourself and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

