Thinking through my fingers…

“Writing for me, is simply thinking through my fingers.”   – Isaac Asimov

It took me almost forever to figure this out.   It’s one thing to think about something.  We do this almost every moment of every day.  But the alchemy of writing changes my thinking into something more.  Writing my thoughts down not only clarifies them, but challenges my mind to structure my words in some interesting and important ways.

What is the process of taking a thought and making it concrete?   How does it change when we write it down?   How do we take one thought and transform it into a piece of writing that has the power to change the lives of others?

I most certainly don’t have the answer to all of these questions.  I only know I am so pleased that I finally, at age 50, figured out that I needed to start writing my thoughts down and sharing them with others.   True, it felt egotistical at first.  But now it is the reason I get up each morning.  Writing daily gives new meaning to my life.

I have come to enjoy the process of “thinking through my fingers” immensely!

About Laura Lee Carter

Laura Lee Carter is the author of this blog and she holds copyright on all materials published.
This entry was posted in Becoming an author in midlife, Believing in yourself as a writer, Blogging, Buy Local - Fort Collins, Fort Collins author, Fort Collins writer, Freedom of the press, Learning how to become a writer, Stress Management for Writers, Stresses of authorship, Stresses of becoming a writer, the need to be heard, the process of writing, The psychological challenges of becoming a writer, Writer's anxiety, Writing and authenticity, Writing and loneliness, writing and meaning, Writing and self-discovery, Writing and Self-worth, Writing the truth, Writing to learn more about yourself and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Thinking through my fingers…

  1. Pingback: How do I think? | How to believe in love again:

  2. Michael Kay says:

    Hi Laura, I came across this entry as I was looking, on a whim, to see if anyone else had used the name I have taken for my own recent;y-started blog, ‘Thinking through my fingers’. I had no idea this was a quote from Isaac Asimov, and it makes me tremendously happy as I have always been a huge fan of his science fiction. I genuinely thought that this was my own original thought (and it was in some ways of course because I did come up with it independently), but suddenly finding out that this was his thought as well reminds me of a quote from the play/film The History Boys:

    “The best moments in reading are when you come across something – a thought, a feeling, a way of looking at things – that you’d thought special, particular to you. And here it is, set down by someone else, a person you’ve never met, maybe even someone long dead. And it’s as if a hand has come out, and taken yours.”

    I feel the same way as you express here; I often don’t know for sure exactly what I think about a certain topic or issue until I start writing about it, and then all sorts of ideas will come, my thoughts will become clearer in my head, and my opinions will be consolidated. I’ll generate (from somewhere) an argument here, a turn of phrase there, something that’s really worth keeping, and I’ll feel much better for it. It’s a lovely feeling.

    Thanks for sharing this, all the best!

  3. Glad you found my blog and you enjoy it. Perhaps I’ll study further if others know how the act of thinking a thought changes through writing about it. I know it really works for me!
    All the best, Laura Lee

    • Michael:
      Check out my new post today; before we could read to know we are not alone, but now we can even WRITE to know we are not alone. Let’s hear it for blogs and the Internet!
      LLC

      • Michael Kay says:

        I agree! I also find I think well when I run, it’s sort of meditative, and I hammer out some good arguments like that. It’s not quite the same when I can’t write them down and delegate them to a more permanent medium though. I also will have a new post out later today, would love to hear what you think! 🙂

  4. Yes, I problem solve BEST in the shower. In fact I now often take a shower when I’m trying to solve a problem in my head. But writing helps me organize my feelings and express them in some coherent way to others. I believe that is my gift which I express best through my Midlife Crisis Queen blog.
    BTW, do you work at the HPS Museum? We have an antique microscope we need to figure out the history of… -LLC

  5. Brenda says:

    I never thought of it like that, but it does feel like it. The brain and hands coordinate and something magical happens. Yes?

  6. Something mysterious, magical and always a surprise! Becoming a writer in midlife has been an excellent reminder to me that we can wake up everyday and realize ANYTHING COULD HAPPEN!

Leave a Reply

