Don’t give up on writing! Instead read this story!

Have you heard the true story of the late Olivia Goldsmith, bestselling author of the novel The First Wives Club?

Here’s is a great example of writer’s perseverance from Cynthia Kersey’s great book Unstoppable: 45 Powerful Stories of Perseverance and Triumph from People Just Like You.

Olivia Goldsmith: “For me to write, I had to quit my job, live off my savings, and hope that what I was writing was not a pile of garbage but a salable manuscript. I had worked as a marketing consultant for eleven years and had become the first woman partner.

Although I had a successful career, something was missing. The painful divorce I was going through caused me to reevaluate my life. As I thought about what I really wanted to do, a tiny inner voice said, ‘You’ve always loved reading.’ That’s all it said.  I was afraid to admit to myself that I wanted to write.  Another voice asked, ‘Who do you think you are?'”

Despite on-going battles with self-doubt, Goldsmith persisted.  She committed to “writing five pages a day, no matter what. If they stunk, they’d be five lousy pages, and if they were good, they’d be five good pages. Usually they were lousy.”

After two and a half years, she had finally finished the manuscript which she wrote by hand.  She dropped it off to be professionally typed. When it returned, it took her three months to find the courage to pick it up.  “My inner voice was telling me, ‘No one will ever buy it’ and I knew that once I picked it up the hardest part lay ahead — trying to sell it.”

Goldsmith sent “The First Wives Club” to eleven publishers.  But the only thing she received back were form letters explaining that they didn’t read unsolicited manuscripts.
Finally, she got an editor to read it–only to receive a personalized rejection letter explaining that the story was ‘too unbelievable’ and ‘no one is interested in reading
about middle-aged women who get dumped by their husbands.’

Goldsmith, however, believed differently.  She began calling agents, and after several months, finally found one to represent her. He insisted that she change the manuscript
to make the characters more sympathetic.  He told Goldsmith to give the first wife a cat with leukemia, the second wife a mentally disabled daughter, and the third wife a baby that died.

She was strongly opposed to making these changes, but after thinking about it for a long time, she relented.  After all, she figured “He’s the expert.” The agent sent it to his best
contacts at various publishing houses. They all rejected it.

“I was very depressed at that point,” Goldsmith says.  “But then something exciting happened.  My unpublished manuscript had gone out to Hollywood where it was
discovered by Todd Harris who believed in it.  He sent it to some producers he knew.

Soon, the CEO of Paramount Pictures bought the rights to “The First Wives Club.”  She
liked everything about the book except for three things: the cat with leukemia, the mentally disabled daughter, and the baby that died. Goldsmith made the changes and it was published by Simon & Schuster.

Her book became a bestseller and the movie was one of the biggest box office hits when it came out.

Goldsmith concludes, “My experience taught me a lesson that I’ll never forget: As long as you believe in yourself and your own vision, you have something.  When you give up that, you are personally bankrupt.”

That has been my own experience to a tee!

About Laura Lee Carter

Laura Lee Carter is the author of this blog and she holds copyright on all materials published.
This entry was posted in Becoming an author in midlife, Believing in yourself as a writer, Buy Local - Fort Collins, Fort Collins author, Fort Collins writer, Learning how to become a writer, Making a living as a writer, Marketing your book, Marketing yourself as a writer, Stress Management for Writers, Stresses of authorship, Stresses of becoming a writer, the need to be heard, The psychological challenges of becoming a writer, Writer's anxiety, Writing and authenticity, writing and meaning, Writing and self-discovery, Writing to learn more about yourself and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

