Get out of your mind, and into the world!

As a writer, I know I can tend to hibernate in my head.  I don’t know if it’s genetic or my upbringing, but I am one of those people who feels stuck in my mind at times.  Yesterday I began to think about the things I do that bring me back to my senses, and how soothing and satisfying these can feel at times.

First and foremost for me is any activity that focuses on my senses.  I find taking a shower to be a great way to get back to my senses.  A lot like sex or sleep, simply taking a shower is so sensory that it can stop my mind from analyzing everything for a short period of time.

Stop and smell the flowers…

My puppy is also a great reminder of how I might let go of the constant chatter in my head and just be.  Seeing the world through my dog’s eyes is one of my favorite exercises! 

Dogs have no “life goals” or daily standards for productivity.  They focus like a laser on their own moment-to-moment sensations and needs like, “I’m hungry now” or “I feel tired” or “Who is that at MY door?”  I admit it, I envy my pup’s mindlessness at times!

These thoughts all brought me back to a welcome and constant companion in my life.  I had some wonderful training in meditation while studying at Naropa University for my degree in counseling psychology.  There I learned that meditation is not just sitting quietly, but can also include walking outside, digging in my garden, or any kind of useful work with my hands.  Two of my favorites are cooking and eating!

I knew I needed to find a way to be contemplative at times, because I was raised to be so action oriented.  Action is good, but not without quiet consideration behind it.

“Have a sense of gratitude to everything, even difficult emotions, because of their potential to WAKE YOU UP!”   – Pema

About Laura Lee Carter

Laura Lee Carter is the author of this blog and she holds copyright on all materials published.
This entry was posted in Becoming an author in midlife, Fort Collins author, Learning how to become a writer, Stress Management for Writers, Stresses of authorship, Stresses of becoming a writer, the process of writing, The psychological challenges of becoming a writer, Writing and authenticity, Writing and self-discovery, Writing the truth, Writing to learn more about yourself and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

