Writing and validation

Ignore success.  Concentrate on excellence!

As most of you know from experience, validation can be hard to come by as a writer.  And isn’t that exactly what most of us seek as we start out?  I know as a new freelance writer a few years ago, validation seemed impossible to find.  I received either silence or rejection from the many editors I contacted.

I now see this as the initiation period of becoming a writer.  If you can make it through that kind of rejection, you may have a chance of becoming a writer, however you define it.  Because one of your biggest challenges will be finding validation from inside yourself.

In other professions you go get a job.  When I first became an academic librarian back in 1979, I “became” a librarian when I got my first job.  With writing, validation is not so simple, but it is the key to all future excellence.

I was surprised to find how much of a difference winning a writing contest yesterday made to my own sense of validation.  I know it was just a silly competition, the first I have ever entered, but I loved the feeling of some else finally calling me “a winner.”

My own midlife crisis began after I lost my job and my career as a librarian back in 2004.  This experience included memorable moments of debilitating fears that I WAS in fact a midlife loser.  I even eventually wrote a workbook to help others with these dreadful feelings called:   “Feel Like A Loser?  What To Do When You Don’t Have A Clue.”

Getting past all of your fears of rejection is your first job as a new writer.  Look for your validation inside of yourself, because you know you MUST WRITE!  Then go out and find out where you belong in the wide world of writing.

I know this can be quite daunting at times, perhaps the greatest challenge of your life, but once you find your special niche, you have it made!

About Laura Lee Carter

Laura Lee Carter is the author of this blog and she holds copyright on all materials published.
This entry was posted in Becoming an author in midlife, Believing in yourself as a writer, Blogging, Fort Collins writer, Learning how to become a writer, Making a living as a writer, Marketing yourself as a writer, Stresses of becoming a writer, the need to be heard, The psychological challenges of becoming a writer, Writing and authenticity, Writing and loneliness, writing and meaning, Writing and self-discovery, Writing and Self-worth, Writing to learn more about yourself and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

