What is writer’s block, and why don’t I have it?

“Words, once they are printed, have a life of their own.”                                                                         – Carol Burnett 

I know most of you may have experienced “writer’s block.”  My friend Tammy talked about it over at “Grown Up, Now What?” this week.  She wondered why she gets it sometimes with writing, and not with other creative pursuits like art or dancing.

This got me to wondering, how come this NEVER happens to me?  But then I slowly came to the realization that I actually had writer’s block for 50 years!

Yes, I used to be the quiet, shy, bookworm/librarian type, believe it or not!  Furtively writing in my journals for decades on end, never sharing any of it with others, I lived with so much fear of “exposing myself” in public.

It was my own supremely lonely midlife crisis, the Internet, and especially blogging that changed all that for me!  Only after experiencing divorce and then job loss all alone, and with no visible means of support, I decided to break my silence.  I knew I could offer some positive and validating support to others as they experienced similar midlife madness.

Now nobody can shut me up!  After spending most of my life in silence, I know I have something important to say and I’m saying it!

I always wanted to be somebody, but now I realize I should have been more specific!

About Laura Lee Carter

Laura Lee Carter is the author of this blog and she holds copyright on all materials published.
This entry was posted in Becoming an author in midlife, Believing in yourself as a writer, Blogging, Fort Collins author, Fort Collins writer, Freedom of the press, Learning how to become a writer, Stress Management for Writers, the need to be heard, The psychological challenges of becoming a writer, Why self-publish?, Writing and authenticity, Writing and loneliness, writing and meaning, Writing and self-discovery, Writing the truth, Writing to learn more about yourself and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

