If I could write like anybody, I would write like….

Just found a new book by one of my favorite-all-time authors!

The back story is, this author’s book,  Around the House and in the Garden: A Memoir of Heartbreak, Healing, and Home Improvement, arrived in my life just in time to help me survive my own divorce back in 2001.  And as it turned out, my garden and sun room were the most essential part of my own recovery process.  In other words, don’t underestimate the power of home improvement to heal your spirit!

As it turns out (do you believe in coincidences?) she then had a surprise job loss a few years after mine!  Who knew?   She was an editor at House & Garden Magazine and walked into an ambush one day, just like me, and was told she had no job as of the end of the week.

So what did she do?  She wrote another book about her own experience of job loss called: SLOW LOVE: How I Lost My Job, Put on My Pajamas, and Found Happiness.  I started it yesterday and I am on cloud nine enjoying her insights and unique sense of humor!  The woman knows exactly what sudden job/career loss feels like, and definitely has a way with words!

So here is my tribute to Dominique Browning!  Even though she doesn’t respond to my direct tweets, I love her all the same!

About Laura Lee Carter

Laura Lee Carter is the author of this blog and she holds copyright on all materials published.
This entry was posted in Becoming an author in midlife, Believing in yourself as a writer, Fort Collins author, Learning how to become a writer, Publicity for writers, Stresses of becoming a writer, the need to be heard, The psychological challenges of becoming a writer, Writing and authenticity, Writing and loneliness, writing and meaning, Writing and personal growth, Writing and self-discovery, Writing and Self-worth, Writing the truth, Writing to learn more about yourself and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to If I could write like anybody, I would write like….

  1. Pingback: Need a great read on divorce or job loss? | Midlife Crisis Queen: It's never too late to find out who you might have been!

Leave a Reply

