Should you be a writer?

success planIf you’d like some encouragement for being yourself and doing what you do best, go check out this 60 Minutes interview with Dave Grohl of the rock band the Foo Fighters… I received lots of what I needed to continue doing what I do best from Dave!

The first step is actually believing you can be a writer similar to those you admire, but different because you are a different person.

Do you believe in yourself and what you have to offer the world?

The second question you need to ask yourself: do you have the courage to be yourself as you write?  To paraphrase a line from Dave:

I don’t want to write like someone else — I want to write like me! 

Appreciating my own unique gift is always a challenge for me, so I especially appreciate Dave’s encouragement as I set off writing my first memoir!

About Laura Lee Carter

Laura Lee Carter is the author of this blog and she holds copyright on all materials published.
This entry was posted in Becoming an author in midlife, Believing in yourself as a writer, Learning how to become a writer, Marketing yourself as a writer, Stress Management for Writers, Stresses of authorship, Stresses of becoming a writer, the process of writing, The psychological challenges of becoming a writer, Walsenburg author, Writing and authenticity, Writing and loneliness, Writing and personal growth, Writing and self-discovery, Writing and Self-worth, Writing the truth and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

