How do we choose our blog topics?

work your ass offThis morning I found myself wondering why we find some topics so worth writing about, while others would never make the cut? Why, when I’m sitting around thinking about nothing in particular, will I mark one idea in my mind as something to go back to when I’m writing, and all other thoughts aren’t worth mentioning?

How do we choose what to write about next?

The only answer I could come up with was personal taste. Sometimes I simply say to myself, “That’s an interesting thought.” or “I’ve never looked at things that way!”

Internal thoughts like these actually do determine whether readers come back, because they find my choice of topics or thought processes more interesting than others. But why? I can only surmise that my readers and I share certain values or views on life. Perhaps they find me curious, or in some way similar to them.

I decided a long time ago, when I first started writing a blog, that if a topic was interesting enough to me to cause me to research and write about it, than there certainly must be other readers who would find it interesting.

I started out writing about my own midlife changes. By writing on this topic I met others who had also discovered what a perfect time midlife was to take a long look at your life thus far, and then perhaps change before it was too late. Do-overs before it’s all over!

With research I learned exactly how healthy midlife change can be. Who knew? Not me when I first started suffering through a divorce, job/career loss, etc. I thought this was just my own personal hell. Not so!

IMGP4009

Somewhere over the rainbow…

Midlife crisis is the gift that keeps on giving! I went from my sad and lonely, unemployed position to finding love, a new career I love, and moving to a fantastic solar home in the southern Colorado foothills.

How’s that for some serious do-overs?

 

About Laura Lee Carter

Laura Lee Carter is the author of this blog and she holds copyright on all materials published.
This entry was posted in Becoming an author in midlife, Believing in yourself as a writer, Blog Coaching, Learning how to become a writer, Stresses of authorship, Stresses of becoming a writer, the need to be heard, the process of writing, The psychological challenges of becoming a writer, Walsenburg author, Writer's anxiety, Writing and authenticity, writing and meaning, Writing and personal growth, Writing and self-discovery, Writing and Self-worth, Writing to learn more about yourself and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

1 Response to How do we choose our blog topics?

  1. 1989chevy says:

    Well done, my friend! ‘When life hands you lemons…’!

Leave a comment