Do you regularly lose your confidence as a writer?

I know I do.  I’ll be going along just fine for a while, believing what I do is useful and meaningful.  And then one day, out of the blue, I’ll suddenly decide, “This is crazy!  What am I doing here?”

I just got back from a short trip where I had no contact with the Internet for four days, and since my return I find I have all sorts of self-doubt about my future as a writer.

It isn’t that book sales are falling or page views are not constantly going up on my blogs.  Sometimes I’m not sure what it is.    Perhaps it is simply the human condition to occasionally feel uncertainty and self-doubt.

When this happens, I am always prepared with one of my favorite quotes:

“To BELIEVE is to be strong. Doubt cramps energy.  BELIEF is POWER.”      – Frederick William Robertson

About Laura Lee Carter

Laura Lee Carter is the author of this blog and she holds copyright on all materials published.
This entry was posted in Becoming an author in midlife, Believing in yourself as a writer, Blogging, Buy Local - Fort Collins, Fort Collins author, Fort Collins writer, Learning how to become a writer, Making a living as a writer, Marketing yourself as a writer, Stress Management for Writers, Stresses of authorship, Stresses of becoming a writer, the need to be heard, the process of writing, The psychological challenges of becoming a writer, Writer's anxiety, Writing and authenticity, Writing and loneliness, writing and meaning, Writing and self-discovery, Writing and Self-worth, Writing the truth, Writing to learn more about yourself and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment